Coleg Y Cymoedd

Support for Learners

Safeguarding

Safeguarding

It is important that all children, young persons and vulnerable adults studying at the College are protected from the possibility of abuse.

Policies are in place to deal with complaints of child abuse. The Director of Learner Services and the Campus Directors are the designated safeguarding Officers for the College.

All reports of illegal abuse will be investigated in accordance with the Safeguarding Policy.

Should you have any reason to report an incident, please contact your tutor, welfare officer or any member of staff who will report it.

Alternatively contact one of the named safeguarding officers. These officers should also be the point of contact for any concerns about learners being radicalised or drawn into illegal activities such as terrorism for example.

Designated Safeguarding staff wear purple lanyards

 

Key Contacts

Senior Designated Safeguarding Officer 

David Brookes, Director of Learner Services

T: 01443 663014 M: 07585771348 

E: david.brookes@cymoedd.ac.uk

 

Designated Safeguarding Officers (DSO)

Mark Thomas

Campus Director

Aberdare

T: 01685 887517

M: 07788101453

E: mark.thomas@cymoedd.ac.uk

Karen James

Campus Director

Nantgarw

T: 01443 663034

M: 07584130926

E: karen.james@cymoedd.ac.uk

Carolyn Donegan

Campus Director

Rhondda

T: 01443 663250

M: 07815315834

E:Carolyn.donegan@cymoedd.ac.uk

Alison Roberts

Campus Director

Ystrad Mynach

T:  01443 653604

M: 07976241405

E: Alison.roberts@cymoedd.ac.uk

Julie Rees

Director of HR

Rhondda

T: 01443 663201

E: julie.rees@cymoedd.ac.uk

David Francis (Welsh language only)

Director of Finance

Rhondda

T: 01443 653633

E: david.francis@cymoedd.ac.uk

 

Designated Senior Person for Safeguarding (DSP) 

David Finch, Vice Principal

T: 01443 653698  M: 07971194951 

E: david.finch@cymoedd.ac.uk

Prevent

PREVENT is one of the four elements of CONTEST, the government’s counter-terrorism strategy.

PREVENT aims to stop people becoming terrorists or supporting terrorism.  The College has a duty to safeguard its learners from the threat of being radicalised.  Should anyone be concerned that one of our learners is being drawn into harmful extremism or intolerance they should discuss their concerns with one of our safeguarding staff (who wear purple lanyards) or our PREVENT point of contact (The Director of Learner Services). 

You can read more about PREVENT in the College’s PREVENT Protocol.

Welcome to Coleg y Cymoedd

Please select your language option. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Click here for more information.

Croeso i Coleg y Cymoedd

Dewiswch eich dewis iaith. Drwy ddefnyddio'r safle we hwn, rydych yn cytuno i'n defnydd ni o gwcis. Cliciwch am fwy o fanylion.