Coleg y Cymoedd celebrates learner success at their annual awards ceremony

Coleg y Cymoedd honoured the achievements and contributions of its learners at the 2024 Learner Awards on 19th June 2024 at its Nantgarw campus.

The event brought together learners, staff, sponsors, and guests, who praised the winners for their efforts this year.

They enjoyed an acoustic set from college learners and rising stars, The Unknown, and live popcorn and candyfloss making stations.

In total, the college gave out 42 awards in categories such as Community Award and Contribution to College Life. The candidates for each category were nominated by tutors and college support staff, who appreciated the learners’ excellence, dedication, and progress throughout the year and winners were selected by a panel of impartial judges.

The evening was hosted by Amy Williams, a former learner and a first-class graduate from the prestigious Italia Conti Academy of Theatre Arts in London. Amy, who successfully achieved a Level 3 Performing Arts qualification at Coleg y Cymoedd in 2019, shared her story and accomplishments with the audience, and thanked the college for supporting her goals.

An able compere, Amy read out a statement for each winner as they collected a certificate and prize from the college’s principal, Jonathan Morgan, and the award category’s sponsor.

The two main prizes of the night, the Outstanding Achievement Award and the Overcoming Barriers Award, were chosen by the college’s principal, Jonathan Morgan.

Ethan Sullivan received the Overcoming Barriers Award after surviving a serious accident while studying at the college. Despite his injuries and treatments, Ethan kept up with his work, learned new skills, and excelled in all his assessments, securing an apprenticeship with an electrical company. Ethan is a remarkable learner and an inspiration to everyone.

The second and final Principal’s Award was for Outstanding Achievement, and it was given to Saffron O’Sullivan-Hayball for her valuable contribution to the college’s Open Events, representing A Level Sociology.

Saffron has spoken to parents and learners, answered their questions, and represented the college in an excellent way. Saffron has never missed a lesson or a deadline, is a very hard-working learner, and has consistently shown up despite having several health issues.

In his closing remarks, Jonathan congratulated all on their efforts this year and wished them the best for the future. He thanked the college’s generous sponsors who supported the event and the guests who had attended to share the winners’ special moment.

Congratulations to this year’s Learner Awards winners:

· A Level Award: Saffron O’Sullivan-Hayball

· A Level Science Award: Isabell Pisani

· Business and Finance Award: Tyler Mitchell and Jeffrey John

· Enterprise Award: Ellie Harford

· Childhood Studies Award: Andreea Tataru-peica and Gwenllian Richards-Jones

· Health and Social Care Award: Summer Lavis and Xenia Williams

· Hospitality and Catering Award: Kayla Thomas and Kacey Llewellyn

· Hairdressing and Beauty Award: Bodie Mitchell

· Creative Industries Award: Adeesha Wickramaratne and Sophie Cornelius

· Foundation Learning Award: Tyler Perry and Calin Jones

· Independent Living Skills Award: Dylan Thomas and Riley Troy

· Travel Award: Mia Home

· Air Cabin Crew Award: Grace Evans

· Sports Award: Dylan Scott and Ryan-Lee Thomas

· Construction Award: Ethan Sullivan and Joseph Heycock

· Computing Award: Ryan Jones and Lewis Gasson

· Engineering Award: Iwan Cole and Rhys Weston

· Apprentice Award: Ronan Pellow and Rowan Lyons

· Young Carers Award: Taylorann Gilder

· Higher Education Award: Trisha Fox

· Skills Award: Kelly Bateman

· Numeracy Award: Jenna Newton

· Welsh Award: Luca McAlpine and Tiia Norris-Meade

· Contribution to College Life: Carys Megan-James

· Talented Athlete Award (TASS): Caitlyn Reid-Gordon

· Community Award: Callum Smith

· Overcoming Barriers Award: Ethan Sullivan

· Outstanding Achievement Award: Saffron O’Sullivan-Hayball

Thank you to the sponsors of Coleg y Cymoedd’s 2024 Learner Awards:



Wellington Street
Rhondda Cynon Taff
CF44 8EN


Heol y Coleg
Parc Nantgarw
CF15 7QY


Rhondda Cynon Taff
CF40 2TQ

Ystrad Mynach

Twyn Road
Ystrad Mynach
CF82 7XR

  • Associate
  • Associate
  • Associate
  • Associate
  • Associate
  • Associate
  • Associate
  • Associate
  • Associate
Link takes you to our YouTube page Link takes you to our Instagram page Accessibility
Make! 2 Staff / Student Access News and Blogs ALN